We know the law. We are good at it. And we truly care about our clients. What can we do for you?
If you are facing sex-related charges, you need to know about the Pennsylvania Megan’s Law. This mandatory sex offender registry can mean those convicted of qualifying offenses are under state supervision for 15 years to life. Find out if you will need to register, and what happens if you don’t.
Pennsylvania’s sex offender registry law is named Megan’s Law. The law is named after Megan Kanka, a child victim of a repeat-offender pedophile who raped her, murdered her, and dumped her body in a park near her home. When it was passed in 1995, the Pennsylvania Megan’s Law created a private database of sex offenders only available to law enforcement. However, since 2004, all registered sex offenders have had their names, identities, and addresses available to the public through the state’s Megan’s Law Website.
Megan’s Law has come under fire in recent years. In 2017, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled parts of the law unconstitutional, causing the law to be amended again in 2018 relating to crimes occurring before December 20, 2012. Those older crimes are not addressed in this blog post. There are also several cases pending before the state Supreme Court right now that could change sex offender registry throughout the state.
A variety of sex-related charges can result in mandatory sex offender registry upon conviction. These charges are broken up into tiers, which affects how often and for how long you will be required to report to the state police. Here is a list of the classifications of offenses using common names for the crimes. A list of the specific statutes is available on the Megan’s Law Website.
If you are convicted of a sexual offense (Tiers I, II, or III), you will be required to complete a Sexually Violent Predator Assessment by the Sexual Offenders Assessment Board (SOAB). This assessment is to determine if you have “a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes [you] likely to engage in predatory sexually violent offenses.” In other words, it determines if you are likely to do it again. If you are, the SOAB can recommend you be classified as a Sexually Violent Predator by the judge following a hearing. A Sexually Violent Predator is automatically subject to:
Convicted sex offenders must register with the Pennsylvania State Police at least as often as required by their tiers. They must also appear in person to notify the police of:
Three days isn’t a lot of time to notify police of these major life changes. However, if you are a convicted sex offender it is crucial that you make the time. Failure to register as a Tier I offender is a third-degree felony with a maximum penalty of 7 years in prison. Failure to register as a Tier II or III offender is a second-degree felony with a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison. If you make a habit of failing to register, second or subsequent convictions could mean even higher penalties later on.
At Berman & Associates, our experienced criminal defense attorneys know how a sex offense conviction can change your life. We will help you understand the charges against you and the penalties and lasting consequences that go with them. Then we will build a defense to fight against a conviction that could threaten your future and your public reputation. We welcome you to contact us to speak with us about how we can help with your criminal case.
© 2020 Berman & Associates